Tackle it Tuesday

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

It’s Tuesday, and 5 Minutes for Mom has inspired me. Each Tuesday it’s time to tackle a project – big or small – and celebrate your accomplishments. My project today wasn’t actually in my home… it was in my classroom. I teach second grade, and my teacher’s desk is an embarrassment to all teacher’s on the face of the planet.

It’s terrible. I’m not kidding you. (Check back later for my before and after pictures) The only excuse reason I can give for the huge disaster is the fact that I’m pregnant. (Any one else pregnant?? I’ve found that “I’m pregnant” is the one excuse that can get you out of almost anything! And YES, I will be blaming this on pregnancy as well!) In the beginning of my pregnancy I was really sick and it was hard enough to make it through the day, let alone stay and put papers away. Now that I’m almost to the end of my pregnancy, I am SO tired that by the time I send my kids home at 3:00 all I want to do is take a nap! Put papers in order? When the couch at home is calling my name?? Impossible!

Don’t think I’m an awful teacher. I can grade the papers, prepare the lessons, do all the fun activities with my kids… It’s just that darn putting things away when we’re done that I really struggle with this year. The rest of my classroom is actually quite tidy – and my students know that they are NOT allowed to keep a mess in their desks or leave a mess on my floor. Lucky for me, 7 year olds are forgiving and haven’t yet asked me why my desk is allowed to be such a mess if they need to keep their’s clean…

Today I did it! I stayed after school, I filed papers, I organized student’s work, I put worksheets, handouts, and homework away in their proper place… It really is a modern day miracle!! What was formerly known as chaos can now be referred to as clean, tidy, neat, and organized!

What did YOU tackle today?? Now’s your chance to celebrate!

Explore posts in the same categories: Tackle it Tuesday

2 Comments on “Tackle it Tuesday”

  1. Karen Says:

    My desk at home gets terribly cluttered and I’m not keeping up with lesson plans and papers for a classroom full of kids! Can’t wait to see the before and after pictures. Good work!

    Oh, by the way, I think that being pregnant is a fine excuse for anything you’d like it to be!!


  2. You are on a roll sis-tah! Can you come clean out my desk while you’re at it? I actually had it moved to the Garage so nobody would see it in the house. Talk about clutter!!


Leave a Reply

